US and Australia Announce Travel Ban Amid Coronavirus Outbreak

The US and Australia are imposing a temporary travel ban on those who have visited China in the past 14 days. 

American restrictions apply to noncitizens but exempt immediate family members of American citizens and permanent residents, as reported by The New York Times

Any American citizen who has visited Hubei in the past 14 days will be quarantined for up to two weeks, while American citizens who have visited other parts of China will be subject to proactive entry screening and up to 14 days of monitoring and self-quarantine. 

The temporary ban went into effect on Sunday, February 2 at 5pm ET. 

On Saturday, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced a similar travel ban. However, Australian citizens, Australian residents, dependents, legal guardians or spouses will still be allowed into the country. 

Australian nationals who have visited China in the past 14 days will also be quarantined for two weeks - the suspected incubation period for the virus. 

Scan the QR code below for our updated live coverage on the novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV):

 For more coronavirus updates, click Read more () below.