A to Z Visa-free Transit: Ports, Areas-to-Stay, Laws, How-To...

Source: JobTube, ChinaDaily, Majdi

From Dec 1, 2019, 20 Chinese cities with 27 ports will offer 144-hour visa-free transit services, and 3 Chinese cities with 3 ports will offer 72-hour visa-free transit services to foreign travelers from 53 countries. 
If a friend of yours is coming to visit the import expo in Shanghai; or visiting China soon on a visa-free transit; you might want to share this with them. 

Tourists coming to China should understand that while being on a visa-free transit; it's not permitted to travel throughout the country freely; but your area of stay in China is according to your port of arrival and trasit visa issuance. 

For example: If you arrived to China through Shanghai, it's generally OK to visit Shanghai, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province. However, it's not OK to travel to Beijing or Sichuan or Guangdong or any other province besides Zhejiang and Jiangsu. There are also certain ports where you can exit the country from. So while visiting Zhejiang province, you may exit China through Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport. So the entry and exit ports doesn't need to be the same. 

Here is the list of entry ports with the areas-to-stay associated with every city. Please beware that some ports haven't initiated the visa-free tranist service yet; which the start date is colored in red

53 countries enjoying 144/72-hour visa-free transit in China

39 European countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Republic of Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, Belarus

6 American countries: the United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile

2 Oceania countries: Australia, New Zealand

6 Asian countries: Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar


Special Notes


Stay Up-To-Date

The government offers a mobile version webpage to stay up-to-date with the Visa-Free Tranist service; as more countries and ports get added to the list. This website can also show you the exit ports relevant to you. 

How to Apply?