Schools in 18 Provinces to Reopen, April Will Be a Big Month

It appears that life is slowly getting back to normal in China after 17 provinces and autonomous regions have announced the upcoming reopening of school. 

Those include: Ningxia, Shanxi, Yunnan, Guizhou, Xinjiang, Tibet, Liaoning, Jiangsu, Anhui, Fujian, Jiangxi, Hainan, Sichuan, Shaanxi, Qinghai, Guangxi, Hunan and Inner Mongolia.

Hunan:  Juniors and seniors in Grade 3 will resume classes on April 7. Other grades at levels in the province will open in batches and at different peaks.

Yunnan: On March 28, the education department of Yunnan province issued a notice: in addition to juniors and seniors in Grade 3, other grades students do not start school, the specific beginning time will be announced.

Guizhou: Juniors and seniors will officially resume classes on March 16.

Shanxi: Third graders will start school back on March 25, while final year university students will be back in school in early April.

Qinghai: In principle, regular high schools and secondary vocational schools will open in succession from March 9 to 13. Junior high schools will open from March 16 to 20.

Xinjiang: Juniors and seniors in Grade 3, as well as final year students in secondary vocational schools, will resume classes on March 16.

According to local education department, students in primary schools, senior and junior high schools and vocational colleges in Xinjiang will return to school on March 23, as the coronavirus spread has been curbed.

Jiangsu: Starting from March 30, 2020, schools at all levels in the province will open in batches and at different peaks.

The grade 3 of senior high school and junior high school will start on March 30. Other primary and secondary schools will open on April 7.

College students begin classes on April 13;

However, Hubei, Tianjin, and Hebei provinces reportedly still maintain a level of emergency response following the recent COVID-19 outbreak.

Editor: Crystal H